Hello from County Durham

Thread: Hello from County Durham

Post Thanks / Like

Default Hello from County Durham

Hello my name is David Caster and I am a now retired mechanical engineer serving my apprenticeship at ICI Wilton Middlesbrough which is where I am originally from. I worked on the North Sea and Northern Atlantic oil gas and pilot rigs as well as Norway finishing my time in Crook County Durham as shift engineer which is where my career ended when a scaffold I was working from collapsed and I fell 40 feet badly injuring my self.
    I have a 1979 Suzuki GS750 and 1979 Yamaha XS650. The BMW belongs to my dear friend who does not do internet as I will be assisting Jim with any repairs and services Jim has several bikes a Harley Davidson 1200 xlh a AJS350 an ex WD 1943 Norton 500 side valve also a Suzuki Bandit 600 and a Norton 500 Dominator ........so Jim has just purchased a 18 year old F650 CS with belt drive.

Which brings us to our first query....... the bike has a genuine 7000 miles mot backed. When in neutral there is approximately 20 to 25mm of lateral movement between the the drive belt sprocket and the wheel.....is this normal to me it seems that the cush drive is worn but only 7000 miles! It's BMW serviced from new, snick into gear there is no back lash any ideas please your advice is most welcome thank you and thank you for inviting me to join looking forward to many good reads.

2. LikesBaza liked this post
    Bike
    GS/Gd Dakar 2003
    Post Thanks / Like

Hi, welcome to the forum,
    yous sound well qualified to help your friend.
    7,000 miles may not seem much, but it's 18 yrs old rubber, likely deteriorated. Like wise with drive belt, unless you got FSH to show otherwise ?
    2003 GS Dakar
    BMW Panniers, top box, tank bag
    + loads TT stuff that came with it!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by kuyajonathan View Post
    Hi, welcome to the forum,
    yous sound well qualified to help your friend.