F560 GS '04 Twin Spk - Wont rev over 4K

Thread: F560 GS '04 Twin Spk - Wont rev over 4K

Post Thanks / Like

Default F560 GS '04 Twin Spk - Wont rev over 4K

This fault has just cropped up - any help greatfully accepted......
    Quite simply the motor will not rev over 4k rpm in any gear.
    You can pursuade it a tad higher, but only a few revs worth. Get to 4000 rpm and Durrrrrrrrrr! complete loss of power. Screw up the throttle to max -nothing.
    Drop or ease the throttle at the 4k mark and it picks up just fine until it hits the 4k mark again.

This is coupled with an inability to drop to idle rpm correctly - as the revs fall off too the bottom end of the rev range, the motor stalls. Its a case of de-clutching early and keeping the revs over 2K. Rideable - but not much fun!! Limited to 60mph in top and stalls at every junction!!
    HELP!
    I am a competent mechanic - built and raced my own road-race sidecar outfit, so happy with any technical talk!

Post Thanks / Like

The first thing I would do is a diagnostic test and check for fault codes - with a bit of luck the ECU/BMS will tell you what is happening
    2006 F650GS in Black
    9,300 Miles

Bike
    02 dakar
    Post Thanks / Like

Agree with ecu sounds like it's gone into some sort of safety, limp mode. If not coil test or fuel pump also worth a look.

4. Remove Advertisements
    F650.co.uk
    Advertisements

Bike
    GS/Gd Dakar 2003
    Post Thanks / Like

couple of basic checks, which you have probably done already:
    Battery terminals not loosened ? Causes also sorts of issues, can start ok
    wiring/connectors around ignition switch, damp/corrosion ?
    Fuel contamination, refuelled recently? Filler cap vent not blocked?
    Ignition/plug leads loose/corroded,

Fault code reader should pin point issue, rare,but not unheard of for ECU to fail,
    let us know how you get on
    2003 GS Dakar
    BMW Panniers, top box, tank bag
    + loads TT stuff that came with it!

Post Thanks / Like